ONGOING FORTHCOMING PREVIOUS
Jean-Marie Heyligen. Atelier : Home André Livémont, Beloeil (B)

D’entrée de jeu… - Jean-Marie Heyligen | Trinkhall museum

Opening night : 16.09.2022 at 6 PM
Exhibition: 16.09.2022 > 5.03.2023

Jean-Marie Heyligen (Ath, Belgium, 1961) is a plural-form artist: painter, etcher, sculptor. For over forty years, with endless patience, he has played the role of talking about  important things in a way that is beyond words – stunned faces, abandoned and naked bodies, Indians from another world, knights from another time, all drawn into the irresolute enigma of shapes, strokes, materials, colours, images and things. The long-lasting theme of Jean-Marie Heyligen’s work is organised knick-knacks, constantly metamorphosing due to everything we secretly go through from childhood to adulthood.

 

Jean-Marie Heyligen is also one of the pioneers of what we at the Trinkhall call “the movement of workshops.” From the very outset, a resident at the André Livémont Home (Beloeil), where he still is today, in 1980, he met Bruno Gérard, a young artist who, just at that time, had been employed by the Home as facilitator of a painting workshop. The two young men were of the same age – in their twenties.  Who would be the master? Who would be the student? Nobody knew.  But what was certain, was that Jean-Marie Heyligen’s first works – with their transparency, accuracy, power and mysterious autonomy – shook up the apprentice facilitator’s expectations and assumptions and, from then on, in amazement, he found all the resources of partner teaching skills that he continued to implement, firstly at Livémont, then at Pommeraie (Ellignies-Sainte-Anne), where for thirty years,  he developed one of the major European workshops.

 

https://trinkhall.museum/fr/votre-visite/informations-pratiques

Paul Duhem, Atelier : La Pommeraie, Ellignies-Sainte-Anne (B)

Peindre - Paul Duhem | Trinkhall museum

Opening night : 16.09.2022 at 6 PM
Exhibition: 16.09.2022 > 5.03.2023

Paul Duhem (Blandain, 1919 – Ellignies-Sainte-Anne, 1999) began painting later in life. He was 70 years old when he first crossed the threshold of Bruno Gérard’s workshop, La Pommeraie, where the latter had already been resident for decades. His work, now circulated widely, is represented in numerous public and private collections. It remains completely in the artistry of drawing and painting, ad libitum, the same motifs which are used endlessly, always identical and always different, essentially, faces and doors with the same interior motifs which are also on show on his page, – Paul Duhem hoc fecit ! – through the intelligent, non-exhaustive range of colours and variations, continually leading to the action and daily ritual of painting, with the same ethos and the same tools – pencils, paintbrushes, set squares and protractors, a tin of sardines – where there are deposits of the pigments. In the morning: three paintings and three others in the afternoon, every day in the workshop for ten years until the artist passed away in 1999, the act of painting, which could have infinitely continued but was simply suspended. In his handbook, Poteaux d’angle, Henri Michaux gives artists one simple piece of advice: “Keep things on a short leash.” Looking at Paul Duhem’s paintings, maybe we can dream of a better resonance? Duhem does keep things on a short leash and gives each one of us the freedom to experience the faces, presence and sentiments of our own existence in each of our viewings.

https://trinkhall.museum/fr/votre-visite/informations-pratiques

Des lieux pour exister | Trinkhall museum

Opening night: 25.03.2022
Exhibition: 26.03.2022 > 5.03.2023

For its second season, the museum will examine the broad issue of places. This is the opportunity to contemplate this notion in all its dimensions, whether philosophical, historical, anthropological or even sociological.

It will be entirely occupied by the questions that the present aims at us. The collection testifies to this with extraordinary force: in the intimacy of the studio, all over the world and, since long before the Coronavirus crisis, the artists at work have constantly revealed the poetics and the necessity of places. Their unfailing loyalty to the here, their paramount indifference regarding everything that deviates from it and the learned ignorance which they herald, appear today as so many sensitive and vibrant responses to our worries, so many mirrors that show – with such grace and confidence – these reinvented places where, in the dark hours, there are flashes of confidence and hope.

https://trinkhall.museum/votre-visite/informations-pratiques

EN COURS À VENIR PASSÉS
Jean-Marie Heyligen. Atelier : Home André Livémont, Beloeil (B)

D’entrée de jeu… - Jean-Marie Heyligen | Trinkhall museum

Vernissage 16.09.2022 à 18h
Exposition : 17.09.2022 > 5.03.2023

Jean-Marie Heyligen (Ath, Belgique, 1961) est un artiste polymorphe : peintre, graveur, sculpteur, il se prête depuis plus de quarante ans, avec une infinie patience, au jeu de dire hors-les-mots tout ce qui compte vraiment - des visages effarés, des corps abandonnés et nus, des Indiens d’un autre monde, des chevaliers d’un autre temps, tous embarqués dans l’énigme irrésolue des formes, des traits, des matières, des couleurs, des images et des choses. L’œuvre au long cours de Jean-Marie Heyligen est le bric-à-brac ordonné, sans cesse métamorphosé, de tout ce qui, de l’enfance à l’âge d’homme, secrètement nous traverse.

 

Jean-Marie Heyligen figure également parmi les pionniers de ce que nous appelons, au Trinkhall, le  « mouvement des ateliers ». Résident de la première heure du Home André Livémont (Beloeil), où il réside encore aujourd’hui, il rencontre, en 1980, Bruno Gérard, jeune artiste tout juste engagé par le Home pour y animer un atelier de peinture. Les deux jeunes hommes ont le même âge, une vingtaine d’années. Qui est le maître, qui le disciple ? Nul ne sait. Mais il est certain que les premiers travaux de Jean-Marie Heyligen – leur transparence, leur justesse, leur puissance, leur autonomie mystérieuse -, mettent cul par-dessus tête les attentes et les présupposés de l’apprenti animateur trouvant dès lors, en cet éblouissement, toutes les ressources d’une pédagogie compagne qu’il ne cessera de mettre en œuvre, à Livémont d’abord, puis à la Pommeraie (Ellignies-Sainte-Anne) où il développe depuis trente années l’un des plus importants ateliers européens.

 

https://trinkhall.museum/fr/votre-visite/informations-pratiques

Paul Duhem, Atelier : La Pommeraie, Ellignies-Sainte-Anne (B)

Peindre - Paul Duhem | Trinkhall museum

Vernissage le 16.09.2022 à 18h
Exposition : 17.09.2022 > 5.03.2023

Paul Duhem (Blandain, 1919 – Ellignies-Sainte-Anne, 1999) a commencé à peindre sur le tard. Il avait 70 ans quand il franchit pour la première fois les portes de l’atelier de Bruno Gérard, à la Pommeraie, où il résidait depuis déjà une dizaine d’années. Son œuvre, aujourd’hui largement diffusée, est représentée dans de nombreuses collections publiques et privées. Elle tient tout entière dans le geste de dessiner et de peindre ad libitum les mêmes motifs, infiniment repris, toujours identiques et toujours différents, des visages et des portes, essentiellement, les mêmes motifs intérieurs mêmement disposés sur la page – Paul Duhem hoc fecit ! – et chaque fois réenchantés par l’intelligence inépuisée des couleurs et des variations, le geste et le rituel quotidiens de peindre, le même ethos et les mêmes instruments, crayons, pinceaux, équerre et rapporteur, une boîte à sardines, la même, toujours, où sont déposés les pigments. Le matin : trois peintures, et trois autres l’après-midi, ainsi chaque journée d’atelier, pendant dix années, jusqu’au décès de l’artiste, en 1999, le geste de peindre simplement suspendu qui aurait pu infiniment se prolonger. Henri Michaux, dans son bréviaire, Poteaux d’angle, avait donné aux artistes ce simple conseil : « Tenir les rênes courtes ». Peut-on rêver, devant les peintures de Paul Duhem, plus belle résonnance ? Duhem tient les rênes courtes et donne à chacun d’entre nous la liberté d’éprouver, dans la ronde des regards, des visages, des présences, le sentiment de sa propre existence.

 

https://trinkhall.museum/fr/votre-visite/informations-pratiques

Des lieux pour exister | Trinkhall museum

Vernissage le 25.03.2022
26.03.2022 > 5.03.2023

Lors de sa deuxième saison, le musée examine la vaste problématique des lieux. C’est, l’occasion de réféchir cette notion en toutes ses dimensions, qu’elles soient philosophiques, historiques, anthropologiques, voire sociologiques.

Elle sera tout entière habitée par les questions que le présent nous adresse. La collection en témoigne avec une force extraordinaire : dans l’intimité de l’atelier, partout dans le monde et depuis bien avant la crise du coronavirus, les artistes au travail ne cessent de révéler la poétique et la nécessité des lieux. Leur indéfectible loyauté à l’ici, leur souveraine indiférence à l’égard de tout ce qui s’en écarte, la docte ignorance dont ils sont les hérauts, apparaissent aujourd’hui comme autant de réponses sensibles et vibrantes aux inquiétudes qui nous traversent, autant de miroirs qui donnent à voir – avec quelle grâce et quelle assurance – ces lieux réinventés où se logent aux heures sombres des éclats de confiance et d’espoir.

https://trinkhall.museum/votre-visite/informations-pratiques